Skip to content ↓

Protected Characteristics

Promoting Equality and Diversity

The  Protected Characteristics are:



Promoting the Protected Characteristics at Severnbanks Primary School.

We work to ensure that our children understand that:

  • There are no outsiders at Severnbanks
  • Everyone is different
  • We celebrate our differences
  • We are all equal in our differences

The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation. Everyone in Britain is protected. This is because the Equality Act protects people against discrimination because of the protected characteristics that we all have. Under the Equality Act, there are nine Protected Characteristics: 

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender reassignment
  • Race
  • Religion or belief
  • Marriage or civil partnership
  • Sex
  • Sexual orientation
  • Pregnancy and maternity

At Severnbanks, we actively promote these in our curriculum and work to embed them into our ethos.

Under the Equality Act you are protected from discrimination:

When you are in the workplace

When you use public services like healthcare (for example, visiting your doctor or local hospital) or education (for example, at your school or college)

When you use businesses and other organisations that provide services and goods (like shops, restaurants, and cinemas)

When you use transport

When you join a club or association (for example, your local rugby club)

When you have contact with public bodies like your local council or government departments

We have purchased a selection of books for-year groups.  These books are read to the class or are available for children to read over the course of the year to encourage positive and guided discussion of the protected characteristics. At Severnbanks, we strive to create an environment where children can share their opinions and ask questions.